Tuesday, December 6, 2011

PostSecret taught you what?

I have always enjoyed reading the Sunday Secrets at PostSecret. The idea that anyone can send in a secret, confession, random comment, or rant on a 4'x6' post card and it stay completely anonymous is just awesome to me. I have seen so many secrets that scream at me and some that whisper quietly. Secrets that have left me shockingly speechless and secrets that have had me thinking and talking about it for days.

When the PostSecret app came available for the iPhone I decided that I had to have it. The app is different from the Sunday Secrets in that you can post anytime, you can heart secrets that you like, and most importantly you can reply to secrets. I've had the app for probably three months now and a few things that I have learned are:
  • So many women have been raped and subsequently become pregnant that it is unreal
  • Men love to show their penis
  • Teenagers are being bullied more than you think
  • Politics will always be a hot-button issue
  • Not a lot of Europeans like Americans
  • Australians and Canadians are the most encouraging
  • Most woman love masturbating to lesbian porn
  • Women either really love giving head or really hate it
  • A lot of relationships have ended because the man wanted the woman to abort
  • There are tons of abused people out there that are slowly getting help
  • The Suicide Hotline puts people on hold
I think one of the most shocking things I have learned from this app is that a lot of the Pro-Life group of people are completely intolerant of the Pro-Choice group. 

What I have learned about the Pro-Life segment is that they feel life starts at conception. As an almost scientist there are tons of facts I can relay to you that prove that is wrong. However, that is not the point of this entry today. The point is that most of the Pro-Lifers out there think that all Pro-Chioce people are godless, soulless people that are uneducated sluts that were asking to get pregnant. They do not take into account the women that were raped by a stranger, friend, family member, or spouse/significant other. They do not take into account the cases where it was a medical risk for the woman to carry the child to term. To them it's just a selfish whore that spread her legs and is taking the easy way out. 

I had an exchange with a Pro-Lifer on the PostSecret app a couple of weeks ago. It started when I responded to a persons post about how Pro-Choice does not automatically make a person Pro-Abortion. To me it means that it is the woman's right to choose what happens to her body. Not the government or the church. And definitely not the judgmental Pro-Life people on the app. A person responded to my post by saying that as a society we have an obligation to make judgements about actions. They went on to say that murder, stealing, child abuse and abortion is wrong. The person said that, "To be Pro-Choice means that you are complicit in the murder of unborn children whether or not you would ever have one." And then they gave me a link to a Youtube video in order to persuade me to leave my Pro-Choice heathen lifestyle behind. My response was to ask how a society that claims to be Christians can judge another person? That the last time I read the Bible it said that it is not our place to judge. And then I made a sarcastic comment about how I had completely changed my views because of the Youtube video. A few hours later the person responded to me again by saying that they can't judge a person's heart, motivation, or intentions but they can judge an action. They justified it by saying we as a society do it every single day when we say that something is illegal.

I've always thought that a persons actions take place because of their heart, motivation and intentions. I guess the person didn't like my response or they were tired of discussing the subject with me because they stopped responding. 

Saying something is illegal does not mean the same as morally wrong. Every society has their own moral code. What is socially acceptable in Alabama might be completely unacceptable in Madagascar. The norms that make a society vary from place to place and even from generation to generation. As a person with questionable faith, I find it hard to talk to anyone in the non-secular world about the topic of abortion. Abortion is not a strictly black or white topic. There are so many shades of grey. 

I think the biggest lesson I learned is that I have no idea what led someone to the path they are on. There is nothing written on their face or in the way they walk that can tell me if they were raped. There is nothing in their actions that can tell me if they had to have a therapeutic abortion. The only way I can learn those answers is by having an honest conversation with that person. 

And once that conversation is over, I still do not have the right to judge her. 

Because I am not God or Buddha or Allah or whatever other entity is out there.

I think that is the one thing I wish the Pro-Life PostSecret users would learn from the app. That no one has the right to judge another. Ever.

Sunday, December 4, 2011

Fuck homework. I just want to dance!

It's the weekend before finals week and of course I'm not studying. Tonight one of Flight Risks coworkers made her a sheet cake that has one million calories in it. So we went to the gym and burned off 200 calories so we could have a piece of cake. But we realized we didn't really burn enough to justify the cake so we decided to play Just Dance 2.

And then we decided to film ourselves playing Just Dance 2.

Please excuse my overenthusiastic responses to everything. I apologize for being so loud. Also, we really did go to the gym before hand and we look rough. Other than that I hope you guys enjoy!


Notice the cameo by Daisy the Cat. She didn't agree with what we were doing so she quickly left the room.

P.S. We are playing the Simon Says version of the game so we have to stop, spin, and clap at random times.

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

BK

I got to meet BK this weekend. He is beyond perfect. He slept and ate and pooped like they all do. He was so sweet and happy the entire time I was visiting.

I sent a text to NOG asking if he wanted to go in halves with me on a baby and he quickly told me that I needed to slow my roll because I was on a baby high at the moment. Not long after that BK puked on me. Baby high ended and my world was set right again.

But seriously, how can you so no to that "I don't give a shit what you say so I'm just gonna sit here not giving a fuck" face right there.

Friday, November 25, 2011

Congratulations on making a human with your genitals

You want to know what is fucking annoying? Finding out details about your father from your grandmother. It's annoying because you learn something about the man that gave half of his genetic sequence to create you but has nothing to do with you at the age of thirty. For reason that you don't know. It's annoying because some of your family members take pride in knowing more detail than you. It's annoying because even though you say it doesn't hurt your feelings when he doesn't call you, in reality it does. It's annoying because the one man that is suppose to love you no matter what, tells you nothing about his life and knows even less about your life.

So, while everyone is saying what they are thankful for I can honestly say that I am not thankful in any way whatsoever for the man that help create me because he is a selfish mother fucker that would rather drink a bottle of Jack Daniels instead of speaking to his daughter.

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Fuck school

Last night I discussed with NOG quitting school and spending my days laying around his house naked, bringing him beer when he wants it. He responded with I love that idea however you have to be the one to decide about quitting school. Then he asked me about my career and all the money I've spent so far and blah blah blah. He really ruined my idea of faking my death so I don't have to pay back loans or study for this stupid physiology exam that is in an hour and a half.

Guys are totally worthless at times.


Sunday, November 13, 2011

Boots to walk around New Orleans is so not a good idea.

Happy November!

I got to spend the weekend with New Orleans Guy. We had lots and lots of sex. It was awesome. It was Half-Boyfriends birthday yesterday so NOG flew into New Orleans and we (Flight Risk, Half-Boyfriend and I) met him there and we spent the evening enjoying Bourbon Street and some delicious (expensive) steak. Then we headed back to Mobile and spent the rest of the weekend watching football (disgusted with Auburn at the moment) and a little bit of Fried Green Tomatoes. It was a good time in my book.

This afternoon I got a series of text from Tweaker who found Jesus quizzing me on my weekend. I'm not entirely sure that it was really her because it was quite inquisitive which almost makes me think it might have been Random Money Giver checking up on me.

Shop-a-holic is officially moved out of the house. Of course she left a crap load of trash that we had to clean up. Since she didn't pack any of her shit she can't find anything at the new house. I have received numerous text asking if I have her rubbermaid storage bins and a knife block or if I remember where I packed it. Nice Jess replies with no I don't know where I packed it and it is not here at the house. Bitch Jess wants to reply with Bitch if you had packed your own shit you would be able to find it now. But I didn't. Because I'm nice. God damnit.

Here is a picture of NOG and I and our Huge Ass Beers.

Hope he doesn't mind me posting pictures of him all over the internet. If he does he will have to come back to Alabama to punish me. I hope the punishment will include lots of sex.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Tadpole says hello!

I am happy to announce that Daddy Amazing and Incubator Girl have a brand new baby.

Since I don't tell real names you guys are going to have to be satisfied with his initials. Which are kind of ridiculous.

BKB

In my mind it means Burger King burger. And I've talked with two other people and they both said the same thing immediately so I'm not the only one.

I will now have to come up with new names for Incubator Girl since she is no longer pregnant and since I don't really like Tadpole, he gets a new one also. While I think about that I will leave you with a picture of Daddy Amazing looking amazingly proud and baby BKB.


He weighed in at 6 pounds 13 ounces and was 20.5 inches long. 

I can't wait to get my hands on him!

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Daddy Issues

When I was a kid, before my brother was born, almost every memory I have involves me and my dad.

 I can remember being about 3 years old with a Scooby Doo fishing rod and reel, sitting on a bank one sunny afternoon fishing with my dad.

When I was ten years old I remember Dad being at every softball game I had.

I remember how Transformers was my favorite cartoon and how my brother and I were convinced that Dad was secretly Optimus Prime because he drove an 18-wheeler.

I remember how when I was about twelve suddenly Dad was less interested in our time together and more interested in hunting and fishing with my brother.

I remember how when I was fifteen it seemed like such a hassle for him to answer any of my questions.

I remember that when I was eighteen my best friends mom died and Dad promised me that he would go to the funeral with me since mom was out of town and then he didn't come home for the night.

I remember how when I was twenty-one he told my mom that he hated her and the life they had together.

I remember how from the ages of twenty-two to twenty-six he spent a large portion of that time in and out of jail, fucked out of his mind on meth and alcohol, and spending time with a bunch of absolute waste of space group of people.

I remember when I was twenty-five he sent me a birthday card a month late with a three page letter telling me that he loved me and he was proud of me and that once he got out of rehab he would turn his life around and I would be proud of him again one day too.

I'm thirty now. He is sober but I'm still not proud of him. Since I was about twenty-two or twenty-three, I quit expecting him to be in my life. When it comes to family events I know there is a possibility he might show up. But a bigger probability that he won't. I have adjusted and accepted that he will never be in my life in any big way.

For a long time I was angry with him. Almost ten years of anger really. I was jealous of other girls that had their dad around every single day. I never had that really. My dad was a long haul truck driver from the time I was born until I was about seventeen or eighteen. He would be home maybe 2 or 3 weekends in a month.

He is a fun guy to be around when he is sober. He has all the jokes. He knows how to play guitar. He can sing really well. He knows how to make you feel like you are the only person in the world.

He also knows how to make promises that he won't keep.

I have seen my dad two times this year. Once when he showed up to help me move and once over the fourth of July weekend. Kind of sad when he passes through the town that I live in at least once every three or four weeks since January. The last time I talked to him was back in July. He called my phone by mistake one day. I got to hear his voice but he didn't speak to me. Every time I call him he hems and haws about how busy he is so that our conversations last a minute or two at the most. And he always promises to call me back as soon as he can. But never does.

When I saw him over the summer I was a little angry with him because he had promised to see my brother a few weeks earlier but he of course didn't go or call to let them know he wasn't going to make it. So, I told him how shitty I thought it was for him not to call them. I told him that I expected his asshole moves but that Daddy Amazing deserved better. Especially since he is about to have his first child.

Part of my dads charm is that he can get tons of sympathy from others. He is good at telling how his daughter is upset with him. How she is mad because he didn't call her. She is upset because he didn't stop in to see her. But he never tells the part of the story where he made the plans to be somewhere at a certain time on a certain day. He never tells the part about how he went to see an old friend and drank a bottle of Jack and played the guitar all night long. He never tells how he was hungover the next day and slept until 5 in the afternoon and then started drinking again since he missed his obligation.

So, after I expressed my anger at him for standing my brother up I got bitched out by my aunt and uncle and various family friends for telling him how I felt. I was told how I don't understand what he goes through and how I should cut him a little slack every now and then.

But they didn't know that he was supposed to be somewhere. They didn't know that Daddy Amazing's feelings were hurt. They just knew that I had bitched out my father (in private) and how he was embarrassed to be reprimanded by his daughter.

I have decided that I don't give a fuck what others think about my relationship with my father. That includes my brother, mother, aunts/uncles, and family friends. I have accepted how he is and I have decided that I'm no longer going to allow him to get away with the bullshit anymore.

And if anyone has a problem with how I treat my father they can all go fuck themselves. Because their opinion doesn't mean shit until they walk a mile in my shoes and see how he is from my prospective.

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Giant bathroom in 10 days!

It's a running joke around here that every day we say the best thing about moving into the new house is...and then we say something completely different from what was said an hour ago. So, with that in mind I have decided to make my top ten list of the best thing about moving into the new house is going to be.

1. I have mentioned it a few million times before but I get a giant bathroom! To myself.

2. The washer and dryer will not be in my closet. Oh, and I get not one but TWO closets! (Which of course means I will shop more.)

3. Our bedrooms are no longer right beside each other! (And by that I mean that I will no longer feel like my television is really loud in Flight Risks room since we share a wall.)

4. NO MORE SHARING WALLS WITH NEIGHBORS! I'm so fucking sick of the downstairs neighbors dog barking all fucking day long. I'm even more sick of the neighbor that shares a bedroom wall with me playing their music at 5:30 am like they are running a fucking night club in their bedroom.

5. No more finding a parking space!

6. Kitchen space!

7. A back yard!

8. An office for our desks! No longer will I turn off all of the lights and crawl in bed only to realize that I left my printer on and have to get back up to turn it off because it's too damn bright to sleep.

9. Space! We will now have a three bedroom two bath house. Over 1500 sq. ft. We have a designated laundry room. An eat in kitchen. A huge dining/living room. Two full sized bathrooms. Closets galore. A back yard. A front yard. A privacy fence. A front porch. A back porch. I can have a for real garden!

10. Cable that actually works! Bye bye Comcast. It was not a pleasure to know you at all.

With all that said there are a few downsides to moving from an apartment complex into a house (that you are renting from your sister). When something goes wrong, we have to fix it. When the grass needs to be cut, we either have to do it or pay someone else to do it. If the water heater catches on fire, we have to buy a new one. But really, my top ten list far out weighs anything that can go wrong. For now.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

I am not a pyromaniac. My roommate is.


Tried to take a nap earlier today but woke up to the fire alarm. Checked fb and this is what I found:

Flight Risk
I'm sorry the smoke alarm went off while you are sleeping. don't be upset. I'm cooking something delicious!... i think...
 ·  · See Friendship · 4 hours ago near Mobile

  • Neighbor who helped put out fire, Shop-a-holic and Half-Boyfriend like this.

    • Half-Boyfriend EPIC!
      4 hours ago · 

Monday, September 26, 2011

Mundane Monday

I had dinner with a friend tonight at a questionable Chinese establishment. At the end of our meal we opened our fortune cookies to discover that our fortunes were very similar.


That is the highlight of my day. How has yours been?


Saturday, September 24, 2011

Being pissed and giving thanks

Lately I've been a real bitch. I've been blaming it on the whole "original sin" that Eve committed but really I can't use that excuse because I really don't believe in the Adam and Eve concept because come on, the idea that human kind as we know it was started by this guy that God created out of dust and a woman that was created from the guys rib bone. I mean really. How is that more believable than the scientific proof of evolution. But I'm off topic. Bitchiness.

I spent some time today thinking about the situation. Everything pisses me off lately. I'm pissed because I have to wake up. Pissed because I have to go to class. Pissed because I have to take an exam. Pissed because I have to do homework. Pissed because the cat wants food. Pissed because Flight Risk gets to see Half Boyfriend every day and I don't get to see my guy ever. Pissed because people don't answer my phone call. Pissed because people do answer my phone call. Pissed because I have to clean. Pissed because I have work. Pissed because I have to talk to people. Pissed because I go a day with out talking to people. Pissed because I have to deal with family. Pissed because I have to move. Pissed because I live in a crappy apartment complex. Pissed because I have to make food. Pissed because I have to pay bills. And the list goes on and on and on.

I wake up and 6 out of the 7 days of the week I'm angry as soon as I open my eyes. I have a really bad attitude from the moment my alarm goes off until my brain finally shuts down at the end of the day. I've always been a solitary person which has never bothered me before but when you have a roommate it makes it difficult to not talk to someone that you live with. I'm making Flight Risk super paranoid that she has pissed me off because some days I choose not to allow my bad attitude to effect others so I don't talk.

I don't know how to work through my frustration without being sarcastic or rude or passive aggressive. I'm currently really upset with Incubator Girl and because of that I'm being really rude to Daddy Amazing and to a lesser extent to Dream Crusher. I don't know how to change that right now. The reasons for me being upset with her are silly really. A clash of opinions that doesn't matter at the end of the day. But because I hate confrontation I choose to be pissed off and dwell on the snide comments that she makes instead of being the big girl that I am and calling her out on her attitude. I need to work on this because otherwise I don't get anywhere in the whole not being pissed off situation. And I definitely need to work on not taking my frustration out on the wrong person because that really doesn't accomplish anything.

I'm going to end this by giving a list of things I'm thankful for. Because there is so much in my life that I don't deserve and that I don't give appreciation for. So, here goes: my mom because she does more than she needs to do for all of her children and grandchildren. My step-dad because he also does more than he needs to do for his children and grandchildren. Flight Risk because she deals with my shitty attitude and always goes to get frozen yogurt or cupcakes with me. Half Boyfriend because he takes out the trash without having to be asked. Daisy because she does stupid crazy shit all the time. Shop-a-holic because she makes me laugh and she is letting Flight Risk and I move into her house, where I get a giant bedroom and an even more giant bathroom all to myself. Daddy Amazing because he can be cool at times. Incubator Girl because she is incubating my nephew. (Right now that's all I can be thankful for with her. I'll work on it.) Scholastically Confused because she sends me really fucked up text pictures and we now have a secret text pictogram language. Tweeker who found Jesus because so far she has cleaned her life up and is making a really great effort at being a much better person, daughter, mom, and sister than she ever has in the past. And because she was accepted to college this past week. My grandparents because they are old and awesome. No Show No Call because he makes me laugh when I'm not irritated with him. New Orleans guy because no matter what mood I'm in he will listen to everything I have to say and he always knows the exact right thing to say to make me feel better not only about the situation but about myself also. And he likes my boobs.

I can be nice and I can be in a good mood. I swear.


Wednesday, September 21, 2011

sometimes the best advice comes from a simple place

I've been having some trouble lately with family. My expectations don't match theirs. Recent events mean that I am moving out of my apartment and into my sisters house. While this is a good thing because it means a lot more room for Flight Risk, her bf, and I it also means that I am again on Shop-a-holic's agenda. I can't figure out if I am being selfish or logical by expecting things like a time line of when she will be packed and moved out. No one else in the family seems to have my affinity for making detailed plans for events. 


This semester I decided to take on more classes then normal because I'm so close to graduating. Taking on all these classes means that I have an exam every two weeks. Fortunately three of the classes I am taking are sciences classes and they tend to all teach close to the same thing which means I get a lot of repetition. However, that does not mean that I can afford to not study. In fact, it means that I need to study more so I don't confuse the information. But because I am not on my own agenda I can't get anything done when I want to. So, I spend a lot of time pissed off and stressed out about things that I can not change. 


The other day I came across this quote from Mr. Emerson and it reminded me that I can't change what happened yesterday so I need to move on. I need to accept what happened. As long as I do what I have to do throughout the day then I should be happy once the day ends. And tomorrow I don't need to look back and wish that I had done something differently.


 Because it doesn't matter and I can't change it. 


Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Ever feel like your weekend is completely consumed by studying?

I guess I should change weekend to life. Because study time doesn't stop once Monday rolls around.

Dreamcrusher is super stressed out about giving Incubator Girl a baby shower. Incubator Girl has been not so easy to work with on arrangements. Mom picked an interesting venue for the joyful event and I'm 99.9% positive that Incubator Girl will complain. And since she is not a good southern girl she will not keep her displeasure to herself. Hopefully my mothers hours of hard work at raising ME to be a good southern girl will pay off and I don't go white girl crazy on the only sister-in-law I have and create conflict between me and the only brother I have. I can be nice on occasion. I swear.

Flight Risk and her bf (I need a name for him since he has made a couple of appearances here) have come up with an interesting idea. His grandparents are even bigger gamblers than mine and are currently going around the country visiting casinos and racking up points on gambling cards for him, Flight Risk and myself. By mid-October the three of us should have 600 points apiece. BF came up with the idea that we should head to New Orleans and stay at Harrah's. Flight Risk has never been to NOLA so Bourbon Street will be an interesting adventure with her.

As you know I met a guy in New Orleans on my last trip with Shop-a-holic. I've been really hesitant to write about him for a couple of reasons. The number one being that he actually takes time out of his busy life to read what I write on here and it's a little odd to me to talk about someone knowing that they will read what you say. But since we have talked pretty much everyday since we met I feel like I should mention him every now and then since he has become a part of my life. He makes me laugh and he likes my boobs. Not much more you can ask for in a guy right?

 With that said, eventually he will get a nickname but I have to think about it because he deserves a good one. And with Flight Risk and BF's brilliant plan of taking our points to New Orleans for the weekend I invited him to join us. Nice that we will get to go back to the place that we met. This time around I plan on being a little bit more sober and in a better mood since I'm not being forced to go with a group of girls that I don't really want to be with.

And of course this wouldn't be an entry unless I have something to avoid. I just finished two quizzes for Technical Writing and I have a quiz I need to do sometime soon for Cell Bio along with reading two chapters about DNA and DNA replication and coming up with 6 questions for each of those chapters to bring to class on Tuesday. New Orleans guy just asked me if I wanted to video chat (I can do that now that I have a Mac) when I finish homework. He obviously doesn't realize that homework never ends.

Thursday, September 1, 2011

Who can blow forty five hundred dollars in just a few hours? This girl!

Grant money came in yesterday and I have already spent about three grand. Ugh. First cell bio exam is the Tuesday after labor day. Ugh.

Incubator girl was released back to work yesterday. She can return to her normally scheduled program but with light activity. She wants an $800 car seat and stroller. Excessive much.

Shop-a-holic was promoted at work so Flight Risk and I will be moving into her house since she will be moving to Florida. Which means that I don't have to deal with a piss ant dog pissing all over my stuff. And I get a house. Bye-bye pesky, noisy, nosy neighbors and bitch ass landlady. And crappy maintenance guy. And burnt up hot water heaters. Hello privacy, my own bathroom, and my own closet with out a washer and dryer in it!

I bought a new computer yesterday. It's an Apple Macbook Pro. I am so flipping excited! I can't wait for it to get here. I even paid the express shipping fee so it would be here in 24 hours. 

Saturday, August 27, 2011

200 beer samples for $25?! I'm in!

I'm pretty sure that this has been the most exciting summer of my entire life. Between school, work, fires, Shop-a-holic's crumbled relationship and Tadpoles shake up, I am damn tired!

Incubator Girl woke up bleeding about two weeks ago so Daddy Amazing rushed her to Labor and Delivery. I swear it took us about 10 minutes to drive about 30 miles. She is doing well and Tadpole is still kicking. I think he is going to be one of those kids that likes to keep the family on their toes. Not sure if I will be able to handle that. I know I will be giving him hell for the rest of my life for the scare we had.

Shop-a-holic wants to return to her childhood and relive how she spent her birthday weekend. She expects everyone to go to Atlanta next weekend for a fun filled adventure of Six Flags and a Braves game. I gotta tell you guys, fun filled and family are not two words that go in the same sentence in my vocabulary.  Plus, I don't care for Six Flags so there is no point in buying me a $35 ticket to just walk around.

School started back this week. What the fuck was I thinking taking on so many classes?! If I truly retain all of the knowledge being thrown at me the next couple of semesters then I should go on an all science game show and rack the fuck up.

Tonight is Beerfest. Flight Risk is currently asleep along with her bf and bff. If they bail on me tonight I might have the biggest breakdown of my entire life. So, I'm going to get in the shower and make lots of noise and hopefully it will wake them up. Otherwise, be prepared for an angry, white girl crazy entry in a couple of days.


Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Shop-a-holic's broken engagement means MY life is being disrupted

Family came back on Friday to offer support to Shop-a-holic since the wedding should have been on Saturday. Fortunately, Shop-a-holic is doing fine. Unfortunately, her bitchy, selfish ways are back in full force.

I spent Saturday hauling the kid and Tweeker who found Jesus around doing back to school shopping for the kid. Do you know how many other people were out doing back to school shopping this past weekend? Hundreds. At first I thought a celebrity was going to show up at Target because otherwise there was no reason that many people should have been there. Along with dealing with all those people I had the privilege of listening to Tweeker bitch and moan about not being home and in her bed. As if she is the only one being inconvenienced by the entire family being back in Mobile. The kid was actually pretty good. Not as much know-it-all attitude as the weekend before.

Sunday was spent helping Random Money Giver and Dream-crusher build a privacy fence at Shop-a-holic's house. Shop-a-holic was not there for any of this. She did not help one little bit with the tedious, back breaking work at all. Parents were incredibly disappointed and surprised by how she acted. Had they known she was apparently not upset with her engagement ending they would have not spent an entire weekend building a fence for her.

On top of all that I was informed that I need to be out of my apartment by October 1st and moved in with Shop-a-holic. So, since her obviously stellar, stable relationship with Douche did not work out I now have to completely disrupt mine and Flight Risks life because Shop-a-holic bought a house with a man that didn't stick around. She can afford it but she wouldn't be able to eat after paying all the bills. So, I get to move into a god-awful blue bedroom and share a house with a sloppy, slothful, selfish brat that has a dog that refuses to use the bathroom outside no matter how long he is out there. I will now have to clean up after a piss ant dog, share space with someone that does not understand what a broom and mop is, and force a really good friend into finding new living arrangements. Somehow, I feel like I got the short end of this stick.

Today, I have the worst heartburn that I think I have every had. Tums are not even touching it. If I could rip my esophagus out right now I would. And to top it all off, I'm having an allergy attack that just won't quit. I'm pretty sure that if I could find that restart button, I would break it and stay in bed for the day.

Monday, August 1, 2011

How the fuck did I turn out so normal?

A couple of weeks ago I posted the number for the domestic violence hotline. Turns out I was writing that post for the wrong person.

Shop-a-holic and Douche broke up. A week and half before the wedding. His family is in town still and for some reason they don't feel that they should leave until the day of their flight. They are staying at Shop-a-holics house. Awkward.

So now my family has been in town for the past 3 weekends. I'm about to go insane. I swear if I kill them all it would be justifiable.

Dream Crusher, Tweeker who found Jesus, the kid and I went to the beach on Saturday. It took three hours. Dream Crusher could not understand why it took so long when the beach is only 60 miles from my house. I had to bite my tongue to keep from saying something extra bitchy to her.

Tweeker who found Jesus graduated from her program Friday. She spent the entire day Saturday obsessing about shit that MIGHT happen on Monday. I wanted to tell her to shut the fuck up and worry about me not freaking the fuck out on everyone.

The kid spent the day arguing with everyone because apparently eight year olds know everything. I wanted to smack her just so she would shut the fuck up.

Shop-a-holic is being the cliched girl and hacking into Douche's facebook account so that she can see who he is talking to now that they have called the wedding off.

Oh, and did I mention that the family will be back this weekend? Yeah, they will all be back on Friday. And for some insane reason I'm planning on visiting them in about a week and a half. Why? I don't know. I'm going to visit with Daddy Amazing and Incubator Girl for the weekend so I will get away from them for a short amount of time.

I just want my house back to normal and the bull shit to all go away. Is that really too much to ask?

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Because it can happen to anyone.

A few months back I posted an entry about the things I learned from dating an addict. It wasn't to inform anyone really, just a way for me to get rid of a lot of thoughts in my head that kept coming up. Today I found this from a person that works in an ER and has seen abuse from all angles. Male on female, female on male, male on male, female on female, parent to child. All forms. She gave the phone number to the National Domestic Violence Hotline which I think is absolutely awesome because a lot of people don't realize that that hotline is out there. I didn't. And if you read her list of the most used excuses I will go ahead and tell you that I fell into numbers 3, 8, 10, 12, and 19. And that was all in one relationship.

The sad part about me posting this right now is that the one person that I really want to read this won't. And even if she does she will continue to make excuses about how her husband treats her.

The thing about the domestic violence hotline is that you can call if you have a friend or family member that is in an abusive relationship. They will give you advice on how to help them. So, the next time I get that text about how my friend is being treated I will not only be giving her the phone number but I will also be calling for advise on how to help her.

So, call this number: 1−800−799−SAFE(7233) 


And also, if you or someone you know has thought about suicide, please call this number: 1-800-273-TALK (8255) or go to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. They want to hear from you and they know how to help. 


All it takes is you reaching out. Don't become another statistic.
                               

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Holidays equal way too much family time

I hope everyone had a wonderful fourth of July weekend.

 I didn't have to go back to school or work until today so mine was extra lovely. I went home to spend time with the family. After day two I was ready to kill them all. Luckily, I got to spend my weekend with this view:
 So, I was able to tune out the family and enjoy the sun.

My brother brought a friend home with him. They had a couple of kids and an adorable dog. Their youngest spent almost all of the weekend in a kayak paddling around the slough with Gypsie hanging out with him.
Way too adorable.

And of course we had Bella to entertain. Luckily Stanton and Seth were there to keep her occupied. I believe that she chased tennis balls for at least a total of 24 hours. By Monday morning she was literally tip-toeing around because her little paws were sore. But she is a trooper and quickly went for a swim as soon as she got outside.
She is so freaking tan!

My good friend Luckie came to see me this weekend too. It was nice having a non-family member around because I got to have a normal conversation that didn't include the question, Do you ever watch Swamp People? Apparently, my entire family is in on some kind of secret Louisiana back woods t.v. show that they had to discuss in detail for hours at a time.
Please excuse the raccoon eyes and Rudolph nose. I always put sunscreen on at the beginning of the day but forget to reapply. And I never take my sunglasses off.

And by the end of the weekend our fierce guard dog completely gave out on us.
She has no teeth and her tongue hangs out of the side of her mouth. Be very afraid.

So, about a month ago I went to New Orleans for Shop-a-holics bachelorette party and we meet a lovely group of guys that were on the male version of our trip. I meet a guy that is so much more witty than I am and he told me about a member of their group that was notorious for slipping away with out telling the rest where he was going. So they gave him the nick name Flight Risk. When I told Ice Queen about my trip and the guys she decided that she wants to be known as Flight Risk because she also has the ability to disappear quickly in a crowd. And she justified her name change by saying that she hasn't made anyone cry lately so she doesn't deserve to be an Ice Queen anymore. So, I changed her name and I am going to leave you guys with a video of her so that all of you can see what I get to live with.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Apparently I turned into a pyromaniac and didn't even know it!

Horrendous week.

Last Thursday I was at a stop-light leaving campus when the driver of the hybrid in front of me jumped out of her car, in tears, and asked me to turn my emergency flashers on. She popped the trunk of her car and smoked started billowing out. Somehow, her battery had died and someone was kind enough to jump her off but the left the battery cables attached to the battery. The cables touched and sparked and the rest is history.

Last Saturday I went to the beach with Ice Queen, Shop-a-holic, and Douche Bag. We were at the beautiful Perdido Bay Pass and off in the distance we could see a cloud of smoke that became progressively larger as the afternoon went on. By the time we left the beach it was clear that a pretty large fire was quickly getting out of control.

Scary, right?

Then on Sunday I went to the oh, so fabulous Cafe 615 for Bloody Mary's and brunch (my favorite version of Sunday Funday). I was feeling pretty good when I got back to the house and decided to take a nap. I bumped the AC down a bit so it would be nice and cool and laid down. All of a sudden a very strong burnt electrical smell started coming through my air vents. I went into the hall way and I could hear a crackling sound coming from the closet where the AC unit and hot water heater are kept. When I opened the door smoke started coming out and the freaking hot water heater was ON FIRE. I freaked the fuck out. I turned the AC off and ran outside to get the fire extinguisher but the damn thing is encased in glass. I was barefoot and in pajamas, in no way prepared to break the glass. I ran back inside and grabbed my phone to call anyone to help but I couldn't remember how to work the damn thing. I finally called a friend that lives in my complex, who surprisingly enough had the exact same thing happen to him. He rushed over and turned all the breakers off. By that time the fire had extinguished itself so we didn't need to break the glass. I called the emergency maintenance number and had to leave a message. Comforting, right?! Crappy Maintenance Guy finally called me back an hour later to tell me that he would be over first thing in the morning to fix everything. About an hour after that one of the seals broke on the water heater and it began to overflow with water. All over my "brand new carpet". And down to the neighbors below me. Where their AC unit and water heater reside. I called Crappy Maintenance Guy back and he said that all he could do was to come over and turn the water off. Then he asked if I wanted him to do that. Um, hello! My apartment is going to flood otherwise!

This is how the water heater looked after the fire and water disaster.

Monday morning he showed up at 10:00 am (first thing in the morning). He quietly worked at replacing the burned out electrical unit. He reattached the panels. He flipped the breakers. He turned the water back on. Of course since the seal had broken the water did not stay in the tank. He looked at me and said Well, it's Monday. And then turned the water off and flipped the breakers back off, stood up and walked out of the apartment.  When he returned with a hose he told me that he was going to drain the tank and go and buy a new water heater.

So now I can sleep easier knowing that I have a brand new water heater.


Edit: For some reason I didn't publish this post last year. Not sure why.

Sunday, June 26, 2011

Just wondering...

why is it so fucking easy for family to hurt your feelings?

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Also,

Daddy Amazing and Incubator Girl are having a boy. So his Usual Suspects list name will continue to be Tadpole.

They have chosen to name him after a man that died YEARS before either one of them were born all because he coached a few seasons at a college here in Alabama. He has a few national championships to his name. Boring.

Dear University of South Alabama,

I have figured you out. You have run the numbers and found that you can pay for all the construction on campus by sending out bogus emails saying that Parking Services will be out of commission for the week due to a computer upgrade. By sending this email you have tricked thousands of summer term students into parking in unauthorized zones where you then send a meter maid around to place those annoying yellow packets on our windshields.

While we are in those endless summer classes, taking in a fifteen week course load in a compressed nine week time, you guys are out and about, hiding behind trees, waiting for us to go inside. Once the door closes you pounce and the rest is history.

Well, since I have figured you out you no longer bother me. Pounce away. I have decided to start collecting those offensively colored packets and I will eventually figure out a creatively chic thing to do with them. And honestly, you can keep my diploma. I don't care at this point. All I ask is that you place my name somewhere in the stone at one of the many new entrance portals that are currently making getting on to campus so fucking hard.

Sincerely,
Jess


P.S. My collection so far. Nice, right?

Sunday, June 5, 2011

One semester, Seven classes, Four and a half hours a class...

Gee, this is going to be fun! AAAK! A foundation class that I have to take in order to graduate starts tomorrow. As you can see by the title of this entry it will last four and half hours a class. But it is only once a week and there are only seven classes. If I can't get through this class than I do not deserve to graduate. End of story.

Most of you know about my phone problems: Dated a loser, he "lost" an expensive phone, added him on my plan, kicked him out, $600 phone bill. Then Shop-a-holic let me use an old Droid that she had until I could up grade to my iPhone. Bu then Ice Queen and I went to Orange Beach and had a lovely dinner at Lulu's when I committed the ultimate sin of dropping the phone in the toilet. And because Verizon is such sticklers for rules (I hope you can all read the heavy sarcasm in that sentence) I had to wait 10 days to get my upgrade. Needless to say it finally happened and I am now the proud owner of a white, 16 g iPhone. I don't think I have ever been happier! It is so much more amazing than the Droid and it works so much better!

That is pretty much what is going on in my life right now. Pretty boring I know. I'm slowly slipping into hermit mode for two reasons: 1. Bring my GPA back up. I figured out the other day that I have to make a 4.0 every single semester in order to get back to a 3.0. And since I want to graduate with some kind of laude after my name that means that I will be taking extra classes to get it up to a 3.5 or higher. 2. SAVE MONEY! That is pretty obvious. I have no money so I need to save. Duh.

And in the spirit of NOT saving, I'm off to New Orleans next weekend for Shop-a-holics bachelorette party. Since I have about $100 to my name it looks like I will have to make the twins look extra good so I can get drinks with out paying for them. We shall see how that goes!

Thursday, June 2, 2011

June 2nd already?!

Well, May has come and gone along with the anticipation of Final Grades.

I did not do well. So I changed my major. Genius, right?

I am now an Interdisciplinary Studies major which means that all the b.s. electives that I have taken because they were so much more fun than my old major classes are now my new disciplines. It's complicated. All you guys need to know is that I will graduate with a degree in Interdisciplinary Studies with an emphasis in Applied Sciences in the Fall of 2012. Can you believe it? I can't!

So, we had some major Weather here in Alabama at the end of April. As I write this I'm kind of shocked than an entire month has gone by since the tornadoes caused such devastation in the south. There was so much damage and loss of life that it is hard to even talk about it really. Needless to say, a lot of people lost their lives, lost their homes, lost family members, lost everything. Please continue to keep the south along with the recent victims of Missouri and Massachusetts in your thoughts.

Incubator Girl and Daddy Amazing find out the sex of Tadpole on June 7th. Everyone is going with a boy but Incubator Girl has decided to switch teams and go with a girl. I will, of course, update you guys when we find out!

Summer classes have started and slacker me has missed my very first threaded discussion in speech. Starting this semester off right!

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Always a bridesmaid, thank fucking god.

So, most of you know that I am a firm believer in passive-aggressiveness. Only because I don't really have the balls to say/do what I'm really thinking. With that being said, I will be attending and participating in another wedding. If you are keeping count that is like 1,908,763 weddings I've participated in for the last thirty years.

A lot, I know.

So, this all leads to my passive aggressive behavior. Each wedding I've been in, I try to think of a subtle way to rebel against the bride in hopes of never having to buy a hideous dress, that WILL NEVER EVER BE WORN AGAIN, despite what the sales lady promises. So far it really hasn't worked.

For Daddy Amazing and Incubator Girl I refused to take her phone call for 6 months after they got engaged. She caught me at a weak moment and told me when and where to get my dress. So, to get back at her I cut off all my hair and died it black. Unfortunately she loved it so it didn't work out quite like I had planned.

Then there was my cousin. Her first wedding she insisted we all have our nails and hair done together so we could bond. Blah, blah, blah. I mean, I had known those bitches since I was like 5 and there was no alcohol involved. I don't bond well unless I have a Stoli-o and cran in my hand. So, I refused to take off my tacky anklet.

Her second wedding I told her right before we walked down the aisle that I refused to be in her third wedding.

Then Shop-a-holic got engaged. I very quickly told her that just because we were sisters I did not have to be in the wedding. It didn't work. The dress she picked out is cute. The scene is the beach. So my passive-aggressive revenge is going to be really, really, REALLY fucked up tan lines. I'm talking getting painters tape and making stripes all over my legs and arms. Maybe a crazy picture on my back. A tacky rose or paw prints on my chest.

Then I'm going to make sure I get a nice picture of myself and have it blown up and whenever someone asks me to be in their wedding, I will say Sure, let me show you all the adorable dresses I have worn over the years. Leave that picture for last and just watch the reaction and count down how fast it takes for the blushing bride to retract her question.

I'm so fucking brilliant sometimes I scare myself.

Saturday, April 23, 2011

You will never believe this!

I got a washer and dryer! They came with this amazing person, you guys know her as Ice Queen. She moved in about 2 weeks ago. She brought along her cat named Daisy. All in all it has been a fairly easy transition.

Class is almost over. Like in two weeks. EEK! I will be retaking Ochem in the summer. Not looking forward to it but I have to do it.

Not too much going on other than that. Went to my parents house last weekend and had a little run in with some Weather. I use the capital W because I drove through a tornado. It was interesting.

Oh, Incubator Girl and Daddy Amazing announced on facebook that they are having a Tadpole. So, you know, that makes it official! I guess Incubator Girl is being quizzed on whether or not there are multiple babies because she is eleven and half weeks and she is already showing. People forget that she is only about 5'3" and has like zero percent body fat so of course she will begin to show sooner than the general population.

Well, I guess that's all for now. I will update you guys on how epically I fail Ochem. It should bring a laugh.

Saturday, April 9, 2011

I've come to realize...

...that life is a massive pain in the ass at times but worth every single interesting minute.

...that being a friend is never easy.

...that parents don't always have the answer but have learned to bullshit their way through the question.

...that life goals can be altered in the middle of attaining them.

...that an education may be priceless but it cost a hell of a lot of money.

...that siblings are what keep you sane when dealing with parents.

...that your nieces and nephews make up for all the shitty things your siblings did to you grow up.

...that a relationship needs more than sex and conversation.

...that a good bottle of wine can make all your problems disappear until you reach the bottom of the bottle.

...that a sunny day will put a smile on your face even as the tears fall.

...that a rainy night will make a good nights sleep even better.

...that a road trip with out a soundtrack is a waste.

...that the most beautiful sights you will ever see will never be duplicated in the picture.

...that the love you have to share will never be given back the same way.

...that sex is fun unless you aren't having any.

...that a prayer doesn't always bring comfort but it makes you feel like you're doing something.

...that procastination leads to awesome naps.

...that life is way more than the places you go, the people you meet, and the love you share.

...that dreams are completely reachable but not always as nice as you think they will be.

...that friendship is a two-way street that you always feel you work at harder than the other person.

...that even though they don't want you it isn't the end of the world.

...that secrets are never easy to keep and sometimes hard to share.

...that gossip makes the world go round.

...that politics will never be agreed on.

...that worship doesn't have to be in a church or even on sacred ground.

...that your favorite place on Earth can be a 100 different places.

...that music is a balm to my soul.

...that snowboarding is so much easier than organic chemistry.

...that the time I spent before school taught me just as much.

...that a song can bring back a memory that you thought was buried so deep nothing would make you remember it.

...that the summertime makes me wish I was ten years old again.

...that trying to be perfect is way too much work.

...that wintertime in the South makes me feel my age.

...that shopping drains my bank account but makes me happy.

...that the beach is a peacefully place.

...that the mountains make me remember that there is a God.

...that a bloody mary instead of church is perfectly acceptable.

...that judgement is easy to pass but hard to accept.

...that understanding doesn't always mean you get it.

...that water really does purify a soul.

...that nothing replaces family.

...that lies come off the tongue easily but are hard to hear.

...that you can't make life easy.

...that love is never simple.

...that pain is sometimes welcome because it means you can still feel.

...that heartache hurts more when it is family.

...that you being happy means that others around you might have to hurt.

...that going home isn't always easy but it is almost always worth it in the end.

...that you should be your biggest fan and your loudest critic because you know the truth about yourself.

...that a whisper can be louder than a scream.

...that even happy tears have their roots in pain.

...that comments on a blog lets the writer know if you find her life interesting.

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Things I learned from dating an addict

My first adult relationship was with a guy that had a pill addiction. I met him at the restaurant we worked at in my hometown right before I moved to Mobile. I should have known then that it would never work because most people that work in the food and beverage industry are addicted to some kind of drug and most of them have no desire to be anything more than a line cook that sells cocaine on the side.

I asked him to move to Mobile with me because he knew the area, had a kid that lived here and I talked myself into being in love with him. Biggest. Mistake. Of. My. Life.

The first three months were nice. We were adjusting to living together and the area. Both of us finding jobs and me settling into a new school. Red flags started popping up but since we were in that "newlywed" stage I, of course, chose to ignore them.

He found a job and suddenly my car that I had worked and saved so long and hard for was no longer mine. I had to walk to school so that he could drive to work.

(Few facts before I go further: Our apartment was across the street from campus, he had no drivers licence, he had no banking account. Oh yeah, he was a wanted man for some ambiguous crime he would never fully tell me about but of course he didn't do. Also, he had to use his brothers name and social security number in order to get his job.)

He used my checking account by depositing his check through the ATM (no questions are asked that way). Which meant that he had my debit card at all times.

We moved to Mobile in December of 2008 and in January of 2009 I upgraded my phone to a slick little smart phone that cost about 300$. I did not get the protection plan because I had never lost or damaged a phone before. He didn't have a cell phone so of course I let him use mine. After all, the only thing I did during the day was go to class and the library.Since I walked there was no worry of me breaking down or anything like that, so I would never really need the phone. About two months later he "lost" the phone one night when he went to a little bar downtown for a beer and a sack of weed. I was obviously not happy that the brand new phone was gone and somehow he turned it into MY FAULT because I had not gotten the protection plan.

He would want us to spend time with his ex-girlfriend and their kid. In the beginning I thought it was for the kid but later I found out that it was for the pills and the weed that she had and the connections she made for him.

I was awarded work study and my pay checks were direct deposited into my account. Since he had the debit card I literally never saw any of my money. He was paid every week and he would take out 200$ when he deposited his check. I was responsible for paying the few bills that we had but since I never had the money I never paid the bills on time or in full.

(Full disclosure about the bills: The rent was 475$ which included cable and water, the car payment was 310$, the phone bill was 75$, groceries averaged about 300$ depending on how much binge eating he did when high.)

I paid the rent up 6 months in advance at the beginning of the year and the middle of the year with my student loan money. My parents paid half of my car payment and took care of my insurance for me. They would also pay for half of the power bill. So, his half of the bills averaged out to be about 400$ not including the phone bill and groceries. He never gave me the money for his half of stuff. NEVER. I always paid it. He would overdraft my account and my paycheck would cover the fees and he would take money before bills could be paid. He would be so pissed when the phone was cut off and bitch at me for not paying the bill. We would eat Ramen Noodles every fucking day. Did I mention that the job he got was in a seafood restaurant? So while I was home with no car, no phone, no money and ramen noodles he was eating fresh fish, shrimp and crayfish everyday. He would bring left over food home most nights which I would gorge myself on right before going to bed. I gained a lot of weight in the process.

His work schedule was at night and my class schedule was during the day. When I would get up in the morning I would try my hardest to be extra quite so I didn't wake him because he would always pitch a fit if I did. When he came home at night he would intentionally wake me up. If I got angry he would tell me how selfish I was and how I didn't want to spend time with him. When I would try to tell him about my day, he would stop me in the middle of the conversation and tell me that he didn't want to hear about my bullshit because he would hurt my feelings.

He would get so fucked up on pills that he would sit at the dining room table and fall asleep like a tired three year old. He caught his hair on fire one time. It was my fault because I lit the candle. While I was asleep in the next room.

He came home from work one day with a dent in the passenger side door. He said he had no idea how it happened because he was at work all day. I had a rental car one time and he went to work on a Sunday morning and should have been off at 4. Well, 4 came around and he wasn't there, 5 showed up and nothing, 6, 7, 8, 9 o'clock. I had no idea what to do, no way to call anyone, nothing. Finally, at eleven he showed up looking like shit and said that he had a seizure in passed out in a park for hours. But he somehow managed to use a full tank of gas before it happened.

I finally broke down and added a second line to my phone bill so that we could both have a phone. I got the new phone and he bitched at me because he didn't get the new phone.

I was never allowed to go out while we were together. He dictated how much money was spent on everything. I visited my parents 3 times the entire year and half that we lived together.

He hated all of my friends and went out of his way to isolate me from them.

I would beg him to buy a bottle of wine and he would always tell me no because we didn't have the money but he ALWAYS had loratabs or oxycotin or 60$ sacks of weed. All I wanted was a 4$ bottle of Merlot.

I kicked him out the first time in October 2009. I left Mobile and went to my parents house and got embarrassingly drunk. And saw his best friend. I came back to Mobile and he showed up and asked me what he needed to do in order to come back home.

I told him he needed to get treatment for his addiction, he needed to clear his name up and he needed to get a licence, a car, and his own checking account. He promised to do all of those things and I stupidly let him move back in. He was clean for a month. While we were separated I promised my dad that I would go to North Carolina with him for Thanksgiving.

Over Thanksgiving he started sending me messages of his Thanksgiving dinner which was Ramen noodles. He called me in the middle of dinner with my family to cry about how I had left him alone during an important time. He could barely talk he was so high.

Over Christmas break I went to my mothers house. He had no family (except for the brother he used) so he didn't take off. He was pissed that I took my car (gasp) and went to see my family. I again got embarrassingly drunk.  When I came hoem he was so fucked up he couldn't even open his eyes.

I let him stay until March 6th 2010. My birthday is in March and my sister and friend wanted to take me to Biloxi for dinner. He pitched a fit. I didn't go. He stayed in the bedroom. I sat on the couch thinking about how my life had become so incredible unrecognizable. He walked into the living room and asked what the fuck I was doing and I looked at him and said it's over. I told him to leave and that I was done being in relationship that was just a convenience.

He called me a selfish bitch that worried too much about money and appearances. He said that I was a fat whore that would never have a relationship. He said that I would never find someone as good as him. He told me that no one would ever treat me as good as he treated me. His favorite was the selfish part.

I packed a bag with my valuable (aka pawnable) stuff and some clothes and headed to Baton Rouge to stay with my dad for the weekend. He took my phone and the keys to my car and left. Called a friend and said that "he was having problems with his old lady". That pissed me off beyond means. I am no ones goddamn old lady.

I came back on Sunday to discover that he had taken all of his stuff. Which wasn't much more than his clothes because I had bought and furnished everything for the apartment.

That's when he started calling me. Asking what he could do to come back. When he realized that wasn't going to let him back he changed tactics. He would text me that he had been beat up by a homeless guy for a sub sandwich at the shelter he was staying at (he was really staying at his ex-ggirlfriends). He would go to the roof of tall buildings downtown and take a pictures of the street below and say he was going to jump.

I told him not to call me. I told him I no longer cared about his life. I no longer cared about his health. I no longer cared what happened to him.

I had to change my phone number. I moved into a new apartment. I quit talking to his friends.

So, back to the title of this post. Things I learned from dating an addict:
1. Don't believe anything they say. It is always a lie.
2. A fist to the face would have been way more welcoming than the verbal and mental abuse he gave me.

That is pretty much it.

There are so many other things he did and said to me that I didn't share today. I didn't write this for pity from the people that might skim over my blog. I wrote it for me.

Thursday, March 31, 2011

Hello, my name is Jess and this week I decided to be a massive bitch.

So awhile back I posted about having a bad day. This week has completely topped that bad day by like a gazillion times more. I have my suspicions as to what is wrong with me and hopefully next month will have worked out all the kinks otherwise I might actually kill someone.

School is kicking my ass. I never thought that I would be in an Organic Chemistry class and feel like I was being weeded out.  I always assumed that I was way too smart to be in the weed out category. I guess my inflated head doesn't have room for the O-Chem knowledge that Dr. Rechrt is word vomiting at me.

I learned a valuable lesson recently. If you want something, especially something big like an appliance, and you have the money, go ahead and buy it. Even if your well-meaning parents say to wait because they will be moving soon and you can have their cast off appliance. Because in the end you will get fucked over.

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Jillian Michaels is a sadistic bitch

Ice Queen came over tonight and we decided to do this ridiculously hard shit so we can be all ripped and junk. Well, apparently my downstairs neighbor isn't too keen on my fat ass getting shredded. She called our courtesy officer. Bitch.

My sinuses are completely kicking my ass this season and I have no idea what to do about it. Because nothing seems to be helping. So, I skipped most of my classes this week.

Thinking about heading home tomorrow. Kind of feeling compelled to head that way.

I planted some pretty flowers this weekend. Ice Queen told me that I'm such a grown up for planting stuff. Not sure if I feel grown up though.