Monday, July 12, 2010

How dare you

Quick family history. My mom was remarried about 6 or 7 years ago and she is raising her husbands granddaughter. My step-sister is an addict that can't keep her shit straight to save her life. Anyways, when my niece was born both of her biological parents were addicted to Oxycontin and obviously not fit to raise a child. Someone called child protective services on my sister and my niece was taken away from her. My dad stepped in and was granted guardianship of her at 6 months of age. Her father eventually signed over all of his parental rights. My parents allow him to see her every other weekend at their (my parents) convince. Her mother is currently in jail.

Fast forward to 7 years later and her father has a new girlfriend. That is pregnant. The new girlfriend has it in her head that she is helping raise my niece and that she and the father have this perfect little angel and she is such a princess and gag me with a fucking spoon please. It is so easy to say that the kid is a perfect angel when you only see her every other weekend. Unlike my parents and siblings and I who have all helped raise her. We know what kind of brat she is. And we also know she is the brat that she is because we have provided her with a stable, loving environment that teaches her that she always has someone looking out for her and someone she can turn to with any problem she has.

The new girlfriend must not be informed that her boyfriend signed away his rights because in her head once she has her baby the three of them plus my niece will all move in together and live happily ever-after. Funny how she gets to skip all the hard stuff like diaper duty, nightmare calming, abandonment issue resolving (b/c her parents were fucking addicts and let her roll of a bed and disappear into the filth of their house), playground fights, and so on. It is damn easy to take over raising a kid that has been taught right from wrong already. A kid that has manners. And while she is only 7 and there are many more issues that will crop up in her life, why the fuck should this new girl be the one to deal with those issues. The father obviously didn't want to deal with it because he SIGNED OVER ALL OF HIS RIGHTS.

This weekend was one of their weekends with her. Before she left my parents she asked my mother what adoption was. When she got to her fathers house she must have mentioned something about adoption to him and the girlfriend because after the kid had been returned to my parents he called asking why she was talking about adoption. He was worried because "you know, when little kids talk about stuff like that they have heard it from the adults around them". He was questioning without saying it out loud whether or not my parents had told her they would be adopting her. What right does he have to question them. HE HAS NO FUCKING SAY!

And the best thing about all of this is that my parents have remade their will stating that should anything happen to them either my brother who is married (to a physical therapist), owns his own home, and has a college degree or myself, who is currently in college working towards an undergrad degree in biomedical sciences and hoping to go to grad school working towards a degree for physicians assistant or medicine, will get custody of the kid. Because we are both stable adults that have careers or career goals, we have been in her life consistently since the age of 6 months where her father has sporadically been there since she was about 5. The new girlfriend only for the last year.

Please tell me if this moron and his bitch have any right to question my parents or for that matter me or my siblings. Because the way I see it, this is a privilege for them to even be in her life. They should be grateful and shut the fuck up.

Before I go white girl crazy and kick someones ass.

No comments:

Post a Comment