Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Apparently I turned into a pyromaniac and didn't even know it!

Horrendous week.

Last Thursday I was at a stop-light leaving campus when the driver of the hybrid in front of me jumped out of her car, in tears, and asked me to turn my emergency flashers on. She popped the trunk of her car and smoked started billowing out. Somehow, her battery had died and someone was kind enough to jump her off but the left the battery cables attached to the battery. The cables touched and sparked and the rest is history.

Last Saturday I went to the beach with Ice Queen, Shop-a-holic, and Douche Bag. We were at the beautiful Perdido Bay Pass and off in the distance we could see a cloud of smoke that became progressively larger as the afternoon went on. By the time we left the beach it was clear that a pretty large fire was quickly getting out of control.

Scary, right?

Then on Sunday I went to the oh, so fabulous Cafe 615 for Bloody Mary's and brunch (my favorite version of Sunday Funday). I was feeling pretty good when I got back to the house and decided to take a nap. I bumped the AC down a bit so it would be nice and cool and laid down. All of a sudden a very strong burnt electrical smell started coming through my air vents. I went into the hall way and I could hear a crackling sound coming from the closet where the AC unit and hot water heater are kept. When I opened the door smoke started coming out and the freaking hot water heater was ON FIRE. I freaked the fuck out. I turned the AC off and ran outside to get the fire extinguisher but the damn thing is encased in glass. I was barefoot and in pajamas, in no way prepared to break the glass. I ran back inside and grabbed my phone to call anyone to help but I couldn't remember how to work the damn thing. I finally called a friend that lives in my complex, who surprisingly enough had the exact same thing happen to him. He rushed over and turned all the breakers off. By that time the fire had extinguished itself so we didn't need to break the glass. I called the emergency maintenance number and had to leave a message. Comforting, right?! Crappy Maintenance Guy finally called me back an hour later to tell me that he would be over first thing in the morning to fix everything. About an hour after that one of the seals broke on the water heater and it began to overflow with water. All over my "brand new carpet". And down to the neighbors below me. Where their AC unit and water heater reside. I called Crappy Maintenance Guy back and he said that all he could do was to come over and turn the water off. Then he asked if I wanted him to do that. Um, hello! My apartment is going to flood otherwise!

This is how the water heater looked after the fire and water disaster.

Monday morning he showed up at 10:00 am (first thing in the morning). He quietly worked at replacing the burned out electrical unit. He reattached the panels. He flipped the breakers. He turned the water back on. Of course since the seal had broken the water did not stay in the tank. He looked at me and said Well, it's Monday. And then turned the water off and flipped the breakers back off, stood up and walked out of the apartment.  When he returned with a hose he told me that he was going to drain the tank and go and buy a new water heater.

So now I can sleep easier knowing that I have a brand new water heater.


Edit: For some reason I didn't publish this post last year. Not sure why.

Sunday, June 26, 2011

Just wondering...

why is it so fucking easy for family to hurt your feelings?

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Also,

Daddy Amazing and Incubator Girl are having a boy. So his Usual Suspects list name will continue to be Tadpole.

They have chosen to name him after a man that died YEARS before either one of them were born all because he coached a few seasons at a college here in Alabama. He has a few national championships to his name. Boring.

Dear University of South Alabama,

I have figured you out. You have run the numbers and found that you can pay for all the construction on campus by sending out bogus emails saying that Parking Services will be out of commission for the week due to a computer upgrade. By sending this email you have tricked thousands of summer term students into parking in unauthorized zones where you then send a meter maid around to place those annoying yellow packets on our windshields.

While we are in those endless summer classes, taking in a fifteen week course load in a compressed nine week time, you guys are out and about, hiding behind trees, waiting for us to go inside. Once the door closes you pounce and the rest is history.

Well, since I have figured you out you no longer bother me. Pounce away. I have decided to start collecting those offensively colored packets and I will eventually figure out a creatively chic thing to do with them. And honestly, you can keep my diploma. I don't care at this point. All I ask is that you place my name somewhere in the stone at one of the many new entrance portals that are currently making getting on to campus so fucking hard.

Sincerely,
Jess


P.S. My collection so far. Nice, right?

Sunday, June 5, 2011

One semester, Seven classes, Four and a half hours a class...

Gee, this is going to be fun! AAAK! A foundation class that I have to take in order to graduate starts tomorrow. As you can see by the title of this entry it will last four and half hours a class. But it is only once a week and there are only seven classes. If I can't get through this class than I do not deserve to graduate. End of story.

Most of you know about my phone problems: Dated a loser, he "lost" an expensive phone, added him on my plan, kicked him out, $600 phone bill. Then Shop-a-holic let me use an old Droid that she had until I could up grade to my iPhone. Bu then Ice Queen and I went to Orange Beach and had a lovely dinner at Lulu's when I committed the ultimate sin of dropping the phone in the toilet. And because Verizon is such sticklers for rules (I hope you can all read the heavy sarcasm in that sentence) I had to wait 10 days to get my upgrade. Needless to say it finally happened and I am now the proud owner of a white, 16 g iPhone. I don't think I have ever been happier! It is so much more amazing than the Droid and it works so much better!

That is pretty much what is going on in my life right now. Pretty boring I know. I'm slowly slipping into hermit mode for two reasons: 1. Bring my GPA back up. I figured out the other day that I have to make a 4.0 every single semester in order to get back to a 3.0. And since I want to graduate with some kind of laude after my name that means that I will be taking extra classes to get it up to a 3.5 or higher. 2. SAVE MONEY! That is pretty obvious. I have no money so I need to save. Duh.

And in the spirit of NOT saving, I'm off to New Orleans next weekend for Shop-a-holics bachelorette party. Since I have about $100 to my name it looks like I will have to make the twins look extra good so I can get drinks with out paying for them. We shall see how that goes!

Thursday, June 2, 2011

June 2nd already?!

Well, May has come and gone along with the anticipation of Final Grades.

I did not do well. So I changed my major. Genius, right?

I am now an Interdisciplinary Studies major which means that all the b.s. electives that I have taken because they were so much more fun than my old major classes are now my new disciplines. It's complicated. All you guys need to know is that I will graduate with a degree in Interdisciplinary Studies with an emphasis in Applied Sciences in the Fall of 2012. Can you believe it? I can't!

So, we had some major Weather here in Alabama at the end of April. As I write this I'm kind of shocked than an entire month has gone by since the tornadoes caused such devastation in the south. There was so much damage and loss of life that it is hard to even talk about it really. Needless to say, a lot of people lost their lives, lost their homes, lost family members, lost everything. Please continue to keep the south along with the recent victims of Missouri and Massachusetts in your thoughts.

Incubator Girl and Daddy Amazing find out the sex of Tadpole on June 7th. Everyone is going with a boy but Incubator Girl has decided to switch teams and go with a girl. I will, of course, update you guys when we find out!

Summer classes have started and slacker me has missed my very first threaded discussion in speech. Starting this semester off right!