Thursday, February 24, 2011

I take it all back

Being a good friend isn't worth it sometimes.

Found out some awesome news the other day.

School sucks.

Birthday is in  16 days.

Snoop Dog is coming to Soul Kitchen the day after my birthday. Already bought my ticket. It is going to be so much fun!

Shop-a-holic changed the date of the wedding. It will no longer be Labor Day weekend. Instead it is being moved up to August 6th. It's still in Gulf Shores and I told her yesterday that after the reception we should get a limo and head to FloraBama. We would totally be the classiest people in there. Nothing like partying in a cathedral wedding gown on a dirt floor with thousands of Nascar loving rednecks.

Sunday, February 20, 2011

"You really are an awesome friend"

Have you ever wondered what it takes for a friend to tell you that? I didn't until recently (like tonight). Princess Ariel told me that and I couldn't really think of anything to say. What makes someone an awesome friend?

In my opinion it means being there for someone. Even when you hate what they are doing. It means saying what you think and feel even if it isn't what they want to hear. It means saying I don't care what time it is, you can show up at my house anytime and always have a place to say. It means listening to everything they say and telling them everything they need to hear. Even if it hurts you and them.

I can think of  a handful of people who have been awesome friends to me. Lately they have told me how awesome I am. I hope that I have told them how awesome they are too.

Saturday, February 19, 2011

That's not my name!

****UPDATED NAMES*****

I had a lovely conversation with K over some awful sushi and we decided that instead of using initials for her and others I need cute nicknames like Shop-a-oholic (younger sister) and Dream Crusher (mom). So, here goes. Also, these may change. And I'm not going to give real names at all but the people who's names they are will know who they are. (Does that make sense? Cuz it did to me.)

Mom=Dream crusher
Dad=No show no call
Step-dad=Random Money Giver
Younger sister=Tweeker
Brother=Captain AmazingDaddy Amazing
Sister-in-Law=Dr. Baker before me Icubator Girl
Youngest sister=Shop-a-holic
Niece=The Kid
Baby=Tadpole
Youngest sister's fiancee=Douch
K=Princess Ariel Ice Queen
A=Breast-feeding Goddess Scholastically Confused
D=Snowboarding Queen Money Maker

That's all I got for now. If I write about someone else not on this list I will add them.

Monday, February 14, 2011

Dear God,

Please let me retain some of these slides. Please don't let me fail this exam. Please don't let me look like the complete dumb ass that I am. I know I don't deserve your help but I really am begging. And next exam, I promise to start studying weeks in advance. (Okay, at least 3 days in advance. I don't want to lie to you.)
Thanks, Jess

Sunday, February 13, 2011

A few simple rules when asking someone a favor.

Number 1. Don't assume that the person doing the favor has nothing to do. That she is just sitting at home waiting for your call. Don't call and say can you pick up around 8? Maybe a little before, maybe a little after. Give an exact time.

Number 2. When telling said person where to pick you up try not to be vague. Airports don't allow you to park and wait for someone. You have to keep driving.

Number 3. Now this one is super important and directly relates to number 2. STAND OUTSIDE OF WHERE YOU TELL THE PERSON TO PICK YOU UP. Do not call them and say You just drove by me. I'm standing inside. I can't fucking see through brick. I am not goddamn Superman with his x-ray fucking vision.

Number 4. When you get in the car don't make stupid ass comments about the way people drive. I've ridden with you. I know you can't fucking drive. It isn't the other people.

On a side note, if you live somewhere that gets shitty cell reception, don't turn off your house line. Because when your daughter calls to bitch about your other daughter, it pisses her off even more that she can't get through to you. And calling your brother just so you have someone to bitch to about the bitch sister, doesn't fucking help.

Of course I will be at your beck and call for the next 4 days.

Shop-a-holic went to MO to see the douch graduate from basic and low and behold got snowed in. You know, because Mother Nature is massively pissed at the US and took a major snow dump on pretty much the enitre country. So, she called me Thursday night to say that she was stuck and she would try and get a flight to Pensacola or Gulfport (both of which are an hour away). Then she called back and said she wasn't going to be able to leave until Friday morning. Hopefully landing around 10. Well, ladies and gents, I have class on Fridays at 10:10. She promised to call so I skipped class. Then at 11 (when my class was getting out) she texted and said she was home. Because she picked up her rental car early. Oh yeah, she went to NOLA this weekend for work. She texted me yesterday to see if I would meet her at the airport when she returns the rental. Basically, I'm her pick up bitch.

O-Chem exam TOMORROW. I have decided I hate o-chem. There is no passionate love affair between us. I'm all about learning and understanding science, o-chem is all about weird cyclopropanes and cyclobutanes and CH3CH=CH2CH crapolla. None of it makes any sense to me.

I also discovered that I suck at studying. Pretty much because I find so many other things that are more interesting. Like vaccuuming. Or finding stuff on Wikipedia. Or just sitting quietly.

Oh, the crazy ass neighbor that I used to have, I named him the Parking-Lot King because he always got pissed if people parked in his spot (We don't have 'spots' at Twin Oaks, only in his imagination), facebook chatted me yesterday. He wanted to know if I wanted to see his kid because he has grown so much. I read: we need a babysitter. I replied: oh, I have seen yalls pictures. He is so cute. (Score 1-Jess 0-P-LK) He asked how school was. Me: good, you? Him: I took the year off so Arie could go. I read: I failed everything and lost money so we decided to see if the other half was smarter than me. (Jess 2 P-LK -1). He told me that he missed talking to me. Me: How is Ariella doing? (Jess 3 P-LK -2) Then he asked the forbidden question: You still single? WTF?!?! Seriously. I read: I have always wanted to ask you out and figured I could get something going between you, me, and my wife. (Egotistical of me I know, but in my defense when I told my sister and K and A they all thought the same thing!) My reply: Umm, yes. Him: My roommate is single also and he is a really great guy. Whoa, did not see that coming. (Jess 2 P-LK -1) Me: Thanks but I'm super busy with school and after two years with Matt I kind of just want to be alone. Him: Yeah, he is the same way about school and work. Just wants someone to do it with I guess. Really, are we ten? I ended the conversation quickly after that and I turned my chat off to random weirdos that are no longer in my life. Leason learned.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

How dare that democratic bitch try and force our kids into a healthy lifestyle!!

So, the Republicans are in a tizzy about Mrs. Obama's "Let's Move!" movement in ending childhood obesity. I personally feel that it is a great cause because she is looking at it from all possible angles. She encourages kids to grow their own gardens and works with Walmart and other grocery chains in helping them find better/healthier foods at the same low costs and encourages kids to go outside and play. By teaching a child how to not only eat healthy but to buy and grow healthy you eliminate a huge percentage of obesity. Those healthy kids grow into healthy adults who in turn have their own children who are taught healthy habits. It's a vicious cycle that isn't so vicious.

What I find odd about this is how the Republican party is so upset that Mrs. Obama is suggesting that people buy healthier foods. They are acting as if she has told the nation to go and cut off the right hand pinky finger of every child in America. It is ridiculous.

After I heard about the argument going around I started thinking about the other First Ladies in my lifetime and their causes and if there was ever a huge deal made about their choices.

The only other stance that has caused this much uproar was when Hillary Clinton was First Lady and she advocated for health care reform. Something we all still can't agree on eleven years later.

I looked up all the causes that the First Ladies have supported and discovered that it all started with Lady Bird Johnson and her push for environmental protection and beautification. Pat Nixon was all about volunteerism and traveling abroad. Betty Ford supported women's rights. Rosalynn Carter worked for mental disabilities. Nancy Reagan Just Said No. Barbara Bush wanted everyone to read. Laura Bush advocated childhood literacy and women's rights.

I remember Nancy Reagan and the Just Say No program. I can remember being in grade school and the D.A.R.E. program would have assemblies were we would hear about drugs and how bad they were.

I remember Barbara Bush as a quiet figure during Bush, Sr.'s term and not much more of her. Except the pearls of course.

Who can forget Hillary Clinton during her husbands terms? While I don't agree with Mrs. Clinton's views on health care reform specifically, I do agree that we need a major change to the health care system.

I remember hearing that Laura Bush was a librarian before her husband came to office and hoping that she would work for some kind of education reform. Like her mother-in-law, Mrs. Bush was a quiet part of her husbands terms.

I like Mrs. Obama. I like what she is working towards. I like that she has chosen to fight a disease that adds trillions of dollars to the national deficit via health care.

It seems like the nay-sayers would find that last little tidbit a good thing.

Thursday, February 3, 2011

New boots?!?! But you don't wear the other new boots!

My sister, a.k.a. shop-a-ohlic, made me go to Shoe Station yesterday and as I said last post I had money left over after paying bills so I just HAD to buy a pretty pair of black boots. Like I have anything to wear them with.

Stepping up the gym time. As I told K today after I twitter challenged her, it is time to get my fat ass skinny and her skinny ass toned. So, gym time, just dance time and bicycle time.

The new apartment is slowly coming into shape. I have so much space that I don't know what to do with everything! The parental units are heading back down here this weekend. They are using the excuse that the kid missed last trip and she was so disappointed that they decided to come back just for her. However, reality is that they can't wait to buy shop-a-ohlic and me things for our pretty new places.

My birthday is approaching. Will you be there?

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Good Lord, look at all that space!

Whatever will I do with a second bedroom!?!? Oh yeah, fill it with all my shit!

The no cussing deal is not going so well. I think I'm down to about 3 F-bombs a day. Better but not really that great.

Moved into the new place this weekend. I look like some one beat the crap out of me.

Failed my first O-chem exam. But since the class average was a 60 and I made a 58 I don't feel that bad about it.

Discovered the ONLY way the University of South Alabama will cancel class yesterday. It takes two transformers (ROBOTS IN DISGUISE!) to blow up and a massive campus wide power outage to happen. They are kind of like the U.S. Postal Services-neither rain nor sleet...will shut us down. No power, we are out of here.

All my bills are paid and I still have a little money in my pocket. Time to go buy something pretty!