Lake time has official started. Except I'm not at the lake. I'm at a Panera Bread drinking an awful strawberry smoothie waiting for Tweaker Who Found Jesus to get out of class. Yay vacation time!
Poor Jack has been stuffed in a kennel or the back seat of the car for at least 20 hours in the past two days. I feel so bad. When I make it home this afternoon he and I will have some serious running around time.
Summer semester begins May 29 which also happens to be the day I take the GRE. As I enjoy my not so yummy smoothie I will be taking a practice test. Hopefully I do better than I did on the last practice test.
I have been seriously considering changing my graduate school goal. So far I am sucking it up masterfully at my biology classes. I dominate my Literature and Anthropology classes. I will graduate with a degree in Applied Sciences so I won't fall into that dreadful Liberal Arts category that everyone makes fun of however for grad school I am considering going the Anthropology route. I'm sucking at the bio stuff right now because I'm over school. Every semester since I started I have taken some form of biology or chemistry and I'm so very very tired of those classes. On the other hand my lit classes are amazing because they are classes like Literature and History of the Civil Rights Movement or 19th Century Philosophy/Literature Theory. How cool do those classes sound?! My anthropology classes are Political Anthropology or Native American Civilizations. Everyone wants to know more about the Mayans and that damn calender, right? The bio classes are genetics or cell bio or microbio. Who wants to take those classes when you can learn more about F. Scott Fitzgerald or the Creek Indians. Not this girl, that's for sure. So, I've been doing research on grad schools that have a Physical Anthropology masters/Ph.D programs. If I could find a program that has bioanthropology or public health and physical anthropology or disease anthropology (which is what I would really love to find) then I might just toss the whole Physician's Assistant goal. And the absolute best part about anthropology grad school is that there is no minimum GRE score. I have a 4.0 anthropology gpa so even if I completely bombed the GRE there is a really awesome chance that I could get into a really amazing program at schools like UT Knoxville, where the Body Farm is located or UC Santa Barbara which has an Integrative Anthropological Studies program where you kind of create your own degree so I could do the disease anthropology. There are so many choices and when I think of going this route I feel a lot more inspired and hopeful. As of right now I still have the gpa to get into PA school but I would need to do really well on the GRE. I think when the fall semester comes around and I begin the application process I will apply to PA schools but I will also apply to a few schools with really awesome anthropology programs and make my decision on where I'm accepted. I feel pretty good about that plan. For now.
I don't normally watch reality tv because I think it is totally dumbing down America but I can't for the life of my not watch The Real Housewives of New Jersey. I think because those bitches are crazy. But I have learned something from Teresa and the gang and that is to respect your inlaws. I've written about my sister -in-law a few times on here and the issues that I have with her but no more. She loves my brother, he loves her, and they created a beautiful child together. I will forever more respect her and treat her with respect regardless of what she does or says. My tongue might be bleeding by the end of the day but I will do this goddammit.
New Orleans Guy sent me cake pops yesterday mainly because I badgered the fuck out of him, partly because I send him pictures of my boobs, and a little bit because he misses me. Whatever the reason, he sent me really awesome chocolate cake pops. He is definitely a keeper.
Wednesday, May 23, 2012
Tuesday, May 15, 2012
Summertime!
Things I love about Summer:
Things I hate about Summer:
So basically I'm a fickle bitch that loves and hates summertime for the exact same reasons. I hope y'all are enjoying/bitching about the season as much as I am!
- Sunshine
- The beach
- The lake
- Family holidays
- Food from those family holidays
- Lighter class load
- More hours at work
- Less idiot freshman on campus
- Longer days
- Jack's happiness to be outside in the sunshine
Things I hate about Summer:
- Humidity
- All the people at the beach
- All the people at the lake
- The family after 24 hours on holidays
- The weight I gain from all the food on holidays
- Actually having to go to class
- Actually having to go to work
- Idiot transient students who take the place of freshman on campus
- The sun coming up at the butt crack of dawn
- Jacks happiness about being outside in the sweltering heat
So basically I'm a fickle bitch that loves and hates summertime for the exact same reasons. I hope y'all are enjoying/bitching about the season as much as I am!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)